Courses of Instruction
STANDARDIZED FIELD SOBRIETY TESTING (SFST) INSTRUCTOR
- August 11-15, 2014
Prerequisite: Applicants must be graduates of a National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) compliant SFST school, be currently commissioned peace officers, and have at least one year of field experience in the administration of the SFST battery. This is non-waiverable due to the course structure. Students will not be taught how to perform the SFST battery, but rather how to teach others. It is mandatory that students be proficient in conducting the SFST battery prior to enrollment in this course. Shall have licensure as a peace officer from the Peace Officer Standards and Training program and; Prior successful completion of a NHTSA/IACP approved SFST Basic training course consisting of a minimum of 24 hours and solely devoted to Standardized Field Sobriety Testing Training and; Currently possess a valid Type II or Type III permit from the Dept of Health and Senior Services and; Must have acquired law enforcement field experience of at least three (3) years utilizing the SFST battery and; Current Law Enforcement Resume and; Letter of recommendation from the Chief Law Enforcement Officer of the agency or his designee.
Course Description: This is a "train-the-trainer" course. Students will learn how to teach standardized field sobriety testing techniques with emphasis on the three standardized, validated tests. Topics include concepts of adult learning and teaching and the SFST curriculum package. This training complies with the standards set by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Students must pass both a teaching practicum (pass/fail) and a written examination (80%) to fulfill graduation requirements. Graduates will be qualified to conduct SFST training and given the resources necessary to do so.
Who Should Attend: Personnel assigned the duties of training officers for DWI enforcement.
Tuition/Registration Fees: Tuition/Registration Fees: Registration fees are due by the first day of class. If fees are not paid in full prior to completion of class, certificates and continuing education hours will not be issued unless payment is received.
- $139 - tuition, meals, and lodging
- $70 - tuition and meals
- $365 - tuition, meals, and lodging (federal, private, and non-Missouri agencies)
- $185 - tuition and meals (federal, private, and non-Missouri agencies)
Continuing Education Hours:
- 18 hours of Technical Studies
- 6 hours of Skill Development
- 1 hour of Legal Studies
Mineral Area College Credit:
- Sergeant Joe Armistead
- For questions concerning enrollment:
- Jeanette Ford
- 573-751-3626 or firstname.lastname@example.org