The Missouri Concealed Weapons Law

 

Missouri’s concealed weapons law became effective February 26, 2004. The law contains requirements for applicant training and background checks; procedures for sheriffs to follow in issuing permits; an explanation of the Missouri State Highway Patrol’s duties regarding concealed weapons permits; and restrictions on where concealed weapons may be carried. 

Missouri’s carrying concealed law recognizes all out-of-state permits, including those from political subdivisions — cities and counties. Also, keep in mind that Missouri’s peaceable journey law will apply to travelers, including those who do not have a permit.

In addition to the concealed carry permit, Missouri now permits any person who is at least 21 years old to transport a concealable firearm in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle. No concealed carry permit is required. Under the old law, the peaceable journey exception to the unlawfuluse- of-a-weapon law permitted travelers on a continuous peaceable journey to carry a concealed weapon. The peaceable journey exception is still in the law, and may apply in circumstances where the new law does not (i.e. if the person is less than 21 years old).

Note: This law does not affect the law prohibiting possession of a concealable firearm by a dangerous felon.

In 2013 the Missouri General Assembly enacted new legislation affecting the Missouri Concealed Weapons Law and Governor Jay Nixon signed the legislation into law. The Patrol wishes to make the public aware of these changes to increase public awareness and education. The Missouri statute, Chapter 571 in its entirety, dealing with weapons can be accessed through the link below. 

Missouri Revised Statute Chapter 571

The specific section of Chapter 571 pertaining to concealed weapons permits is printed below.

571.101. 1. All applicants for concealed carry permits issued pursuant to subsection 7 of this section must satisfy the requirements of sections 571.101 to 571.121. If the said applicant can show qualification as provided by sections 571.101 to 571.121, the county or city sheriff shall issue a concealed carry permit authorizing the carrying of a concealed firearm on or about the applicant's person or within a vehicle. A concealed carry permit shall be valid for a period of five years from the date of issuance or renewal. The concealed carry permit is valid throughout this state. A concealed carry endorsement issued prior to August 28, 2013, shall continue for a period of three years from the date of issuance or renewal to authorize the carrying of a concealed firearm on or about the applicant's person or within a vehicle in the same manner as a concealed carry permit issued under subsection 7 of this section on or after August 28, 2013.

2. A concealed carry permit issued pursuant to subsection 7 of this section shall be issued by the sheriff or his or her designee of the county or city in which the applicant resides, if the applicant:

(1) Is at least twenty-one years of age, is a citizen or permanent resident of the United States and either:

(a) Has assumed residency in this state; or

(b) Is a member of the Armed Forces stationed in Missouri, or the spouse of such member of the military;

(2) Is at least twenty-one years of age, or is at least eighteen years of age and a member of the United States Armed Forces or honorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces, and is a citizen of the United States and either:

(a) Has assumed residency in this state;

(b) Is a member of the Armed Forces stationed in Missouri; or

(c) The spouse of such member of the military stationed in Missouri and twenty-one years of age;

(3) Has not pled guilty to or entered a plea of nolo contendere or been convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year under the laws of any state or of the United States other than a crime classified as a misdemeanor under the laws of any state and punishable by a term of imprisonment of two years or less that does not involve an explosive weapon, firearm, firearm silencer or gas gun;

(4) Has not been convicted of, pled guilty to or entered a plea of nolo contendere to one or more misdemeanor offenses involving crimes of violence within a five-year period immediately preceding application for a concealed carry permit or if the applicant has not been convicted of two or more misdemeanor offenses involving driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs or the possession or abuse of a controlled substance within a five-year period immediately preceding application for a concealed carry permit;

(5) Is not a fugitive from justice or currently charged in an information or indictment with the commission of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year under the laws of any state of the United States other than a crime classified as a misdemeanor under the laws of any state and punishable by a term of imprisonment of two years or less that does not involve an explosive weapon, firearm, firearm silencer, or gas gun;

(6) Has not been discharged under dishonorable conditions from the United States Armed Forces;

(7) Has not engaged in a pattern of behavior, documented in public or closed records, that causes the sheriff to have a reasonable belief that the applicant presents a danger to himself or others;

(8) Is not adjudged mentally incompetent at the time of application or for five years prior to application, or has not been committed to a mental health facility, as defined in section 632.005, or a similar institution located in another state following a hearing at which the defendant was represented by counsel or a representative;

(9) Submits a completed application for a permit as described in subsection 3 of this section;

(10) Submits an affidavit attesting that the applicant complies with the concealed carry safety training requirement pursuant to subsections 1 and 2 of section 571.111;

(11) Is not the respondent of a valid full order of protection which is still in effect;

(12) Is not otherwise prohibited from possessing a firearm under section 571.070 or 18 U.S.C. 922(g).

3. The application for a concealed carry permit issued by the sheriff of the county of the applicant's residence shall contain only the following information:

(1) The applicant's name, address, telephone number, gender, date and place of birth, and, if the applicant is not a United States citizen, the applicant's country of citizenship and any alien or admission number issued by the Federal Bureau of Customs and Immigration Enforcement or any successor agency;

(2) An affirmation that the applicant has assumed residency in Missouri or is a member of the Armed Forces stationed in Missouri or the spouse of such a member of the Armed Forces and is a citizen or permanent resident of the United States;

(3) An affirmation that the applicant is at least twenty-one years of age or is eighteen years of age or older and a member of the United States Armed Forces or honorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces;

(4) An affirmation that the applicant has not pled guilty to or been convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year under the laws of any state or of the United States other than a crime classified as a misdemeanor under the laws of any state and punishable by a term of imprisonment of two years or less that does not involve an explosive weapon, firearm, firearm silencer, or gas gun;

(5) An affirmation that the applicant has not been convicted of, pled guilty to, or entered a plea of nolo contendere to one or more misdemeanor offenses involving crimes of violence within a five-year period immediately preceding application for a permit or if the applicant has not been convicted of two or more misdemeanor offenses involving driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs or the possession or abuse of a controlled substance within a five-year period immediately preceding application for a permit;

(6) An affirmation that the applicant is not a fugitive from justice or currently charged in an information or indictment with the commission of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year under the laws of any state or of the United States other than a crime classified as a misdemeanor under the laws of any state and punishable by a term of imprisonment of two years or less that does not involve an explosive weapon, firearm, firearm silencer or gas gun;

(7) An affirmation that the applicant has not been discharged under dishonorable conditions from the United States Armed Forces;

(8) An affirmation that the applicant is not adjudged mentally incompetent at the time of application or for five years prior to application, or has not been committed to a mental health facility, as defined in section 632.005, or a similar institution located in another state, except that a person whose release or discharge from a facility in this state pursuant to chapter 632, or a similar discharge from a facility in another state, occurred more than five years ago without subsequent recommitment may apply;

(9) An affirmation that the applicant has received firearms safety training that meets the standards of applicant firearms safety training defined in subsection 1 or 2 of section 571.111;

(10) An affirmation that the applicant, to the applicant's best knowledge and belief, is not the respondent of a valid full order of protection which is still in effect;

(11) A conspicuous warning that false statements made by the applicant will result in prosecution for perjury pursuant to the laws of the state of Missouri; and

(12) A government-issued photo identification. This photograph shall not be included on the permit and shall only be used to verify the person's identity for permit renewal, or for the issuance of a new permit due to change of address, or for a lost or destroyed permit.

4. An application for a concealed carry permit shall be made to the sheriff of the county or any city not within a county in which the applicant resides. An application shall be filed in writing, signed under oath and under the penalties of perjury, and shall state whether the applicant complies with each of the requirements specified in subsection 2 of this section. In addition to the completed application, the applicant for a concealed carry permit must also submit the following:

(1) A photocopy of a firearms safety training certificate of completion or other evidence of completion of a firearms safety training course that meets the standards established in subsection 1 or 2 of section 571.111; and

(2) A nonrefundable permit fee as provided by subsection 11 or 12 of this section.

5. (1) Before an application for a concealed carry permit is approved, the sheriff shall make only such inquiries as he or she deems necessary into the accuracy of the statements made in the application. The sheriff may require that the applicant display a Missouri driver's license or nondriver's license or military identification and orders showing the person being stationed in Missouri. In order to determine the applicant's suitability for a concealed carry permit, the applicant shall be fingerprinted. No other biometric data shall be collected from the applicant. The sheriff shall request a criminal background check, including an inquiry of the National Instant Criminal Background Check System, through the appropriate law enforcement agency within three working days after submission of the properly completed application for a concealed carry permit. If no disqualifying record is identified by these checks at the state level, the fingerprints shall be forwarded to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a national criminal history record check. Upon receipt of the completed background checks, the sheriff shall examine the results and, if no disqualifying information is identified, shall issue a concealed carry permit within three working days.

(2) In the event the background checks prescribed by subdivision (1) of this subsection** are not completed within forty-five calendar days and no disqualifying information concerning the applicant has otherwise come to the sheriff's attention, the sheriff shall issue a provisional permit, clearly designated on the certificate as such, which the applicant shall sign in the presence of the sheriff or the sheriff's designee. This permit, when carried with a valid Missouri driver's or nondriver's license or a valid military identification, shall permit the applicant to exercise the same rights in accordance with the same conditions as pertain to a concealed carry permit issued under this section, provided that it shall not serve as an alternative to an national instant criminal background check required by 18 U.S.C. 922(t). The provisional permit shall remain valid until such time as the sheriff either issues or denies the certificate of qualification under subsection 6 or 7. The sheriff shall revoke a provisional permit issued under this subsection within twenty-four hours of receipt of any background check that identifies a disqualifying record, and shall notify the Missouri uniform law enforcement system. The revocation of a provisional permit issued under this section shall be proscribed in a manner consistent to the denial and review of an application under subsection 6 of this section.

6. The sheriff may refuse to approve an application for a concealed carry permit if he or she determines that any of the requirements specified in subsection 2 of this section have not been met, or if he or she has a substantial and demonstrable reason to believe that the applicant has rendered a false statement regarding any of the provisions of sections 571.101 to 571.121. If the applicant is found to be ineligible, the sheriff is required to deny the application, and notify the applicant in writing, stating the grounds for denial and informing the applicant of the right to submit, within thirty days, any additional documentation relating to the grounds of the denial. Upon receiving any additional documentation, the sheriff shall reconsider his or her decision and inform the applicant within thirty days of the result of the reconsideration. The applicant shall further be informed in writing of the right to appeal the denial pursuant to subsections 2, 3, 4, and 5 of section 571.114. After two additional reviews and denials by the sheriff, the person submitting the application shall appeal the denial pursuant to subsections 2, 3, 4, and 5 of section 571.114.

7. If the application is approved, the sheriff shall issue a concealed carry permit to the applicant within a period not to exceed three working days after his or her approval of the application. The applicant shall sign the concealed carry permit in the presence of the sheriff or his or her designee and shall within seven days of receipt of the certificate of qualification take the certificate of qualification to the department of revenue. Upon verification of the certificate of qualification and completion of a driver's license or nondriver's license application pursuant to chapter 302, the director of revenue shall issue a new driver's license or nondriver's license with an endorsement which identifies that the applicant has received a certificate of qualification to carry concealed weapons issued pursuant to sections 571.101 to 571.121 if the applicant is otherwise qualified to receive such driver's license or nondriver's license. Notwithstanding any other provision of chapter 302, a nondriver's license with a concealed carry endorsement shall expire three years from the date the certificate of qualification was issued pursuant to this section.

8. The concealed carry permit shall specify only the following information:

(1) Name, address, date of birth, gender, height, weight, color of hair, color of eyes, and signature of the permit holder;

(2) The signature of the sheriff issuing the permit;

(3) The date of issuance; and

(4) The expiration date.

The permit shall be no larger than two inches wide by three and one-fourth inches long and shall be of a uniform style prescribed by the department of public safety. The permit shall also be assigned a Missouri uniform law enforcement system county code and shall be stored in sequential number.

9. (1) The sheriff shall keep a record of all applications for a concealed carry permit or a provisional permit and his or her action thereon. Any record of an application that is incomplete or denied for any reason shall be kept for a period not to exceed one year. Any record of an application that was approved shall be kept for a period of one year after the expiration and nonrenewal of the permit. Beginning August 28, 2013, the department of revenue shall not keep any record of an application for a concealed carry permit. Any information collected by the department of revenue related to an application for a concealed carry endorsement prior to August 28, 2013, shall be given to the members of MoSMART, created under section 650.350, for the dissemination of the information to the sheriff of any county or city not within a county in which the applicant resides to keep in accordance with the provisions of this subsection.

(2) The sheriff shall report the issuance of a concealed carry permit or provisional permit to the Missouri uniform law enforcement system. All information on any such permit that is protected information on any driver's or nondriver's license shall have the same personal protection for purposes of sections 571.101 to 571.121. An applicant's status as a holder of a concealed carry permit, provisional permit, or a concealed carry endorsement issued prior to August 28, 2013, shall not be public information and shall be considered personal protected information. Information retained under this subsection shall not be batch processed for query and shall only be made available for a single entry query of an individual in the event the individual is a subject of interest in an active criminal investigation or is arrested for a crime.

Any person who violates the provisions of this subsection by disclosing protected information shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor.

10. Information regarding any holder of a concealed carry permit, or a concealed carry endorsement issued prior to August 28, 2013, is a closed record. No bulk download or batch data shall be performed*** or distributed to any federal, state, or private entity, except to MoSMART as provided under subsection 9 of this section. Any state agency that has retained any documents or records, including fingerprint records provided by an applicant for a concealed carry endorsement prior to August 28, 2013, shall destroy such documents or records, upon successful issuance of a permit.

11. For processing an application for a concealed carry permit pursuant to sections 571.101 to 571.121, the sheriff in each county shall charge a nonrefundable fee not to exceed one hundred dollars which shall be paid to the treasury of the county to the credit of the sheriff's revolving fund.

12. For processing a renewal for a concealed carry permit pursuant to sections 571.101 to 571.121, the sheriff in each county shall charge a nonrefundable fee not to exceed fifty dollars which shall be paid to the treasury of the county to the credit of the sheriff's revolving fund.

13. For the purposes of sections 571.101 to 571.121, the term "sheriff" shall include the sheriff of any county or city not within a county or his or her designee and in counties of the first classification the sheriff may designate the chief of police of any city, town, or municipality within such county.

14. For the purposes of this chapter, "concealed carry permit" shall include any concealed carry endorsement issued by the department of revenue before January 1, 2014, and any concealed carry document issued by any sheriff or under the authority of any sheriff after December 31, 2013.

(L. 2003 H.B. 349, et al., § 571.094, subsecs. 1 to 12, A.L. 2008 H.B. 2034, A.L. 2011 H.B. 294, et al., A.L. 2012 H.B. 1647, A.L. 2013 S.B. 75)

The Missouri State Highway Patrol has created a brochure outlining the Missouri Concealed Weapon Law and the brochure can be accessed through the link below.  The brochure can be viewed, downloaded and printed from this link as there is no copyright.

The Missouri Concealed Weapon Law Brochure

For more information regarding Missouri Concealed Weapons Permits please contact the sheriff's department in the county of your residency or the Missouri Sheriff's Association at 573-644-3969.