How To Apply For A Window Tinting Permit

Obtain a prescription from your physician, issued within the year, stating the serious medical condition that exists and the specific tint percentage needed above the the standard allowance of 35 percent (plus or minus three percent for the windows to the immediate left and right of the driver).

Bring your tinted vehicle(s) accompanied with the physician's prescription to your local Highway Patrol headquarters where they will issue the permit(s).

You may receive a permit to keep in your vehicle with a copy of the prescription. A sticker will be affixed to your windshield and a decal will be affixed to your rear glass or bumper.



Motor Vehicle Inspection Offices

Troop A	Lee's Summit	(816) 622-071
Troop B	Macon	(660) 385-667
Troop C	St. Louis	(314) 416-218
	Park Hills	(573) 431-016
Troop D	Springfield	(417) 895-676
	Carthage	(417) 359-150
Troop E	Poplar Bluff	(573) 840-950
	Sikeston	(573) 472-520
Troop F	Jefferson City	(573) 526-626
Troop G	Willow Springs	(417) 469-312
Troop H	St. Joseph	(816) 387-234
Troop I	Rolla	(573) 368-222

General Headquarters Administrative Office



Published by: Missouri State Highway Patrol 1510 East Elm Street Jefferson City, MO 65101

www.statepatrol.dps.mo.gov

www.facebook.com/motrooper () mshptrooper @MSHPTrooperGHQ

🔼 YouTube



SHP-510 H 9//2021



An Internationally Accredited Agency

Are city licenses and parking stickers allowed on the windshield?

Yes. Labels, stickers, decalcomania, and information signs required by law are allowed, provided they do not interfere with the driver's normal view and are not expired.

Iswindowtinting allowed on all the windows in a vehicle?

Vehicles registered in Missouri may have the windows to the immediate right and left of the driver tinted to 35 percent, plus or minus three percent or more light transmittance. Windows behind the driver and the rear glass are not subject to tint limitations.

My doctor says I need to avoid the sunshing. Can I add extra tinting to the front stile windows?

Missouri Law allows window tint on the windows to the immediate right and left of the driver of 35 percent, plus or minus three percent light transmittance. Any tint with less light transmittance requires a physician's prescription indicating the serious medical condition that exists and the specific tint percentage needed above the standard allowance. A permit is required to operate a vehicle with tinting applied with less light transmittance than the 35 percent, plus or minus three percent. The permit may be issued by the Highway Patrol if the applicant requesting the permit has obtained a written prescription in the name of the vehicle owner from a physician, issued within one year, stating the specific tint percentage needed due to the specified medical disorder.

Can my spouse drive the vehicle fill get a permit?

A permit allows operation of the vehicle by members of the immediate family who are a husband, wife, son, or daughter who reside in the household.

liloperate a leased vehicle can l obtain a permit?

If you meet all the required criteria for obtaining a permit and your vehicle registration certificate includes your name, such as ACME Leasing c/o of John Doe, you may apply for a permit.



Will my vehicle pass a safety inspection with thring applied to the front stile windows?

Missouri law does not require safety inspecton stations to inspect window tinting for compliance during a safety inspection. Therefore, safety inspection stations no longer consider window tint compliance a part of the safety inspection. Missouri law enforcement officers will strictly enforce the window tint law. FRONT SIDE WINDOWS 35%,+/-3% lighttransmittance Can be tinted darker with a prescription

llow do I prove to a police officer that the finding on my front windows is legal?

You must carry the window tinting permit in your vehicle at all times. Also, when the permit is issued a sticker will be affixed to the lower left corner of your windshield and a decal will be placed on the rear window or rear bumper.