Verification Stations

Missouri law requires all motorized vessels, sailboats over 12 feet long, and gasoline powered outboard motors to be titled within 60 days of purchase, and registered with the state prior to use on state waters. Missouri residents are required to provide a valid title to buyers at the time of change in ownership. There are rare instances where someone may purchase a boat, motor and/or trailer with a incorrect title or may move into Missouri from another state that does not require a title. When this occurs the Missouri Department of Revenue requires the boat, motor or trailer to have a serial number inspection performed before application for title or registration can be made.

You may contact the Missouri State Highway Patrol Troop Headquarters nearest you to schedule a time to have your boat, motor or trailer inspected for a proper number and verified that it is not reported as stolen. This service is provided at no cost to the public. An owner, or his/her representative, must present proof that they are the actual owner of the item such as a bill of sale, along with the actual boat, motor or trailer.

Highway Patrol Troop Headquarters Motor Vehicle Inspection Unit Locations

Troop A
Lee's Summit, MO
816-622-0717

Troop D
Springfield, MO
417-895-6868

Troop G
Willow Springs, MO
417-469-3121
Troop B
Macon, MO
660-385-2132

Troop E
Poplar Bluff, MO
573-840-9500

Troop H
St. Joseph, MO
816-387-2345
Troop C
St. Louis, MO
636-300-2800

Troop F
Jefferson City, MO
573-526-6262

Troop I
Rolla, MO
573-368-2345

Missouri Department of Revenue
http://dor.mo.gov/motorv/watercraft